Equity, Diversity and Inclusion in Research and Innovation logo

Committee Membership

The Committee comprises faculty members from a variety of disciplines across the tri-campus community who are leaders in championing EDI and addressing questions of diversity and inclusion in their research. The Committee includes distinguished researchers, senior administrators and founding members of TIDE (the Toronto Initiative for Diversity and Excellence), a faculty-led service group that aims to support EDI by providing education and resources about unconscious bias. Committee members work collaboratively with senior staff leads from key administrative portfolios.



Divisional Leads

Allison Burgess

Acting Executive Director of Equity, Diversity & Inclusion in the Division of People Strategy, Equity & Culture
Allison Burgess (she, her, hers) is the Acting Executive Director of Equity, Diversity & Inclusion in the Division of People Strategy, Equity & Culture. Previously, as Director, Sexual & Gender Diversity Office, Allison has spent more than a decade developing partnerships, resources, and programs focused on 2SLGBTQ+ inclusion and belonging, including the annual U of T Pride Pub, Trans Day of Remembrance, International Day Against Homophobia, Biphobia and Transphobia, among others. She holds a PhD from the Ontario Institute for the Study of Education and the Graduate Collaborative Program in Women and Gender Studies.
Judith Chadwick

Judith Chadwick

Assistant Vice-President, Research Services, Division of the Vice-President, Research and Innovation
Judith Chadwick leads a team of dedicated professionals who provide critical support to the pre- and post-award phases of the University’s research mission. Increasingly, EDI considerations factor into the application for and administration of the hundreds of millions of dollars for which the University’s faculty compete annually. The Research Services Office is dedicated to recognizing, promoting and supporting EDI in research, in keeping with University’s international research leadership position.

Andrea Gill

Research Equity and Development Strategist, Division of the Vice-President, Research and Innovation
Andrea Gill has been actively involved in initiatives to support equity, diversity and inclusion in research and innovation at the University of Toronto, including the development and implementation of the Canada Research Chairs Program EDI Action Plan, the development of internal policies and processes to advance EDI and the creation and sharing of resources related to best practices. She also works to support researchers in integrating EDI into their research teams and research funding applications.
Andrea Russell

Andrea Russell

Director of Academic Affairs, Office of the Vice-President & Provost
Andrea Russell holds a law degree from the University of Toronto, and has practiced law internationally. Andrea has been involved in many equity, diversity, and inclusion initiatives at the University, including the Institutional Anti-Black Racism Task Force, and managed the Steering Committee for the U of T Response to the Truth & Reconciliation Commission of Canada.